一个完美的旅行从租赁EZU车辆开始

基督城租车:使用租车服务的好处

正在基督城中查找车辆?打电话给我们,我们将很乐意帮助您!

基督城分行

分行地址:

168 Orchard Road, Harewood, Christchurch 8051

分行电话:

+64 21 043 8288

分行邮箱:

info@ezucarrental.com

工作时间:

Monday - Sunday 07:00 am until 10:00 pm (after-hours available)

提货说明:

EZU 距离机场仅 5 分钟路程,并提供免费班车服务.准备好后,请致电 021 043 8288.您将在 1 号门/登机口外接您,靠近新西兰航空公司国内值机柜台.

下班后:支付 50.00 新西兰元的费用,您可以在正常营业时间后的任何时间取回您的租借. EZU 与 Airpark Canterbury 合作.领取行李后,只需前往航站楼国际到达端的 9 号门/出口即可.使用安装在 9 号门/出口旁边的柱子上的免费电话拨打 25.Airpark Canterbury 将派班车接您并带您领取租金.

下车说明:

请为您的车辆加注正确的燃油,然后将其送回位于基督城机场哈伍德乌节路 168 号的 EZU.我们友好的工作人员会检查车辆,然后将您送到机场航站楼的前门 -只需 5 分钟路程.

下班后:如果您在 EZU 安排了下班时间下车,请给您的车辆加满燃油,然后将其开往 Airpark Canterbury, 17-25 Logistics Drive, Harewood, Christchurch 8544.将车停在前围栏线上并拿到接待处的钥匙. Airpark 按需提供班车,将您送到机场航站楼的前门.此项服务需向 EZU 支付 50.00 新西兰元的费用.

新西兰有三分之一的土地是国家保护区,基督城的公共交通系统一直存在不足, 您不会因为提前计划和考虑下次去租车而受到指责. 有些地方如果没有自己的车是不可能到达的.

如果您在基督城有大的计划,请继续阅读我们的快速租车指南,了解租车的最大好处,以及为什么租车会让您在基督城住得更舒适.

  • 自由

    没有什么比跳上自己的车, 没有任何拘束的开到下一个目的地更好的感觉了.在基督城租车可以让您按照自己的时间表自由出行.

    更棒的是,当您租了一辆车,您就可以去那些没有专用路线的地方. 如果您渴望参观南岛的一颗隐藏的宝石,或者离开人迹罕至的路线,自己去发现一些,租车是最好的选择.

  • 舒适

    对于许多人来说,租车的最大好处之一就是让您在基督城度过轻松的时光.您可以按照自己的步调行事,随心所欲地来来去去,并随身携带所需的一切.

    无论您是出差还是休闲,当您可以存储所有物品时,生活会轻松很多您在基督城租车的点点滴滴,您可以随身携带的物品不受限制.当您经过所有站在寒冷中等待公共汽车的人时,您会跟着您最喜欢的曲调唱歌.

  • 负担能力

    与支付出租车或司机的费用相比,租车可以为您节省大量费用.租车还意味着您不必担心车辆维护成本、组织单独的保险单或不必管理公共汽车、火车和机票之间的多笔付款.

  • 满足您的技术需求

    我们最重要的租车建议之一就是选择一辆能让您的旅行尽可能轻松的车. 高质量的车型配备了全景显示、盲点监视器和防撞系统等所有功能. 如果它能让您在全国各地的旅行更上一层楼,您可以在基督城租车时找到它. 您会发现其中一个可选的附加功能包括导航系统,这样您就可以轻松地游览南岛. 每一个都安装了超过20种语言,将让您摆脱绑定,即使没有电话服务.

立即预订您的下一次基督城租车服务

基督城租车让生活变得简单,所以您可以专注于外出,在城市里四处走走. 如果您热衷于开始您的下一个租车冒险,前往我们的预订页面获取报价,并从我们基督城的大量租车中选择您的下一个旅行伙伴.

在基督城中租车的步骤

  • 1. 选择车辆

    输入位置和时间以搜索大量vehicles.

  • 2. 填写预订表

    请仔细输入您的个人信息,以确保以后不会出现问题.

  • 3. 订单确认

    完成预订并确认预订.

  • 4. 提取车辆

    打印凭单并检查您是否拥有收取租金所需的所有相关文件.

在基督城租车时为什么选择EZU

  • 高质量的客户服务

    免费机场和酒店接送服务

    公开和诚实-无隐藏成本

    快速高效的团队

    热情友好

  • 热门交易

    价格仅为19.99美元/天,非常划算!

    无取消费

    没有借记卡或EFTPOS费用

    信用卡费用限制为2%

  • 24小时路边救援

    我们为每辆租车提供24小时路边援助.如果您遇到困难,只需拨打AA电话0800 734 543,告知您的注册号码.

  • 方便的位置

    我们的每个分行距离机场都不到5分钟车程.我们为您提供从机场或酒店到我们分公司的免费接送服务.准备好后只需拨打0800 676710,我们热情的队员就会接您.

  • 车型的绝佳选择

    从我们种类繁多的现代顶级车辆中进行选择.这些都是由我们自己的熟练技工在现场精心维护的.您还能在哪里以如此实惠的价格买到如此出色的车辆?

  • 更多可选附加功能

    我们非常重视EZU的安全.我们为您提供符合法律规定的汽车座椅和加高座椅.为方便您,我们还提供其他服务,使您的旅行更加愉快.

在基督城租一辆车,享受这一切

基督城是新西兰南岛最大的城市,也是坎特伯雷地区的所在地,基督城位于南岛东海岸.基督城由基督城机场以及公共汽车和火车提供服务.当地巴士服务,称为 Metro,由 Environment Canterbury 提供.然而,与新西兰其他地区一样,汽车仍然是该市的主要交通工具. 基督城有超过 2,300 公里的道路,其中 360 公里是未封闭的,43 公里是高速公路.基督城拥有 3 条高速公路,分别是 Christchurch Northern Motorway、Christchurch Southern Motorway 和 Christchurch-Lyttelton Motorway,驾车出行十分方便.

基督城气候

基督城属温带海洋性气候,夏季温和,冬季凉爽,降雨量适中. 1 月份的平均每日最高气温为 22.6°C (73°F),7 月份为 10.9°C (52°F).根据柯本气候分类,基督城属于海洋性气候(Cfb).这座城市的夏天大部分时间都很温暖,但经常被来自东北的海风缓和. 1973 年 2 月达到创纪录的 41.6°C (107°F) 温度.在冬季,夜间温度通常低于 0°C (32°F).每年平均有 80 天的地面霜冻. 1945 年 7 月 18 日记录的最冷温度为 -7.1°C (19°F).

  • 11.8°C / 53.2°F

    年平均气温

  • 577mm / 22.7inches

    年平均降水量

  • 82.3 days

    年平均降水天数

0 — 11 ℃

32 — 51.8 ℉

Partially cloudy

基督城今天的天气

来源:“Visual Crossing Weather”.

汇率

  • 来自 新西兰
  • Australia
    AU$
    =

    1.1321

  • United States
    US$
    =

    1.7455

  • China
    CNY
    =

    0.2463

  • England
    £
    =

    1.9782

  • European Union
    =

    1.7259

来源:“ExchangeRate-API”.

基督城的推荐旅游项目

  • 植物园

    在基督城享有花园城市美誉的核心地带,花园是一个不断变化的美丽之地.花园展示了新西兰和世界其他地区的动植物,拥有新西兰最好的异国植物和当地植物之一.植物园每年接待超过 110 万游客,是基督城最受欢迎和最受欢迎的景点之一.

  • 基督城美术馆

    基督城美术馆 Te Puna o Waiwhetu 是南岛最大、最著名的美术馆.展出的艺术品范围从古代大师到现代艺术.美术馆还​​定期举办活动,包括讲座、博物馆参观和电影之夜.它有一个壮观的外部设计,非常值得一游.

  • 基督城空中缆车

    基督城缆车登上港口群山,不仅可以俯瞰城市,还可以俯瞰火山口边缘和卡文迪什山顶.在山顶上,您将欣赏到美丽的城市景观、坎特伯雷平原和利特尔顿港.在阿尔卑斯山南部,您可以走很远的路.当您到达山顶时,有一家餐厅,您可以观看有关基督城地质和人类历史的视频.

  • 基督城博物馆

    博物馆位于市中心,是重建后的文化区的一部分.虽然博物馆可以追溯到1867年,朱利叶斯·冯·哈斯特(Julius von Haast)的藏品构成了它的核心,但现在您可以在这里了解坎特伯雷的历史及其与南极洲的联系.亮点包括毛利人画廊、历史悠久的基督城街和维多利亚博物馆.

  • 基督城市政厅

    基督城市政厅位于城市中心,雅芳河岸边.无论您是参加展览、音乐会、活动还是享受美食,它都会给您带来兴奋感.它最近得到了广泛的恢复和加强,并于2019年再次开放.它包括道格拉斯·里尔伯恩礼堂、詹姆斯·海伊剧院、莱姆厅、雅芳厅和维多利亚厅.

  • 基督城有轨电车

    基督城有轨电车将历史和观光结合在一起,提供了一种美妙的体验.这些有轨电车经过了漂亮的修复,是游客和当地人的最爱.一张全天往返票可以让您游览中心城市的所有景点.这条路线共有17站,包括坎特伯雷博物馆、植物园、玛格丽特·马伊游乐场以及市中心的商店和餐厅.您甚至可以在电车餐厅上用餐.

基督城常见问题

您知道吗,在新西兰羊比人多 ?如果您计划参观,基督城是您建立大本营的绝佳地点,但重要的是要有办法四处游览并探索所有景点.

虽然基督城的汽车租赁通常相对实惠, 它们在其他因素上差异很大.选择满足您特定需求的租车很重要.

继续阅读以了解您应该考虑哪些因素.

您可以更改基督城租车日期吗?

有取消费用吗?

您可以在基督城添加其他司机吗?

基督城有租车保险要求吗?

基督城租车有哪些特点?

新西兰的安全座椅和增高坐垫

关于雪链

基督城租车有哪些车型可供选择?

在基督城寻找合适的租车服务

如果我在基督城取消租车,会有额外的费用吗?

我可以更改我的基督城租车日期吗?

我可以在基督城租多长时间的车?

我可以用我的海外驾驶执照在基督城租车吗?

在基督城租车需要携带哪些文件?

如果我不满25岁,我能在基督城租一辆车吗?

我可以申请额外的司机在基督城租车吗?

在基督城租车时,我如何购买额外的保险以减少超额租金?

如何在基督城支付预订费用?

基督城的租客怎么说

来自租用基督城汽车的真实评论.希望这些评论对您有所帮助.

关于新西兰的交通规则,您需要知道什么

新西兰绝对是公路旅行的天堂.交通很便利,道路也很好,从窗口您可以看到北岛和南岛的美丽景色.如果您是第一次来新西兰,最好在开始公路旅行之前了解新西兰的交通规则,以避免不必要的违规行为.

  • 保持左侧

  • 行人优先

  • 保持低速

  • 请系好安全带

基督城租车小贴士:

  • 在 基督城 租车需要英文驾照.如果您有其他语言的驾照,您需要将驾照连同官方英文翻译件一起出示,或出示国际驾照.这些将在取件时复印.

  • 当您在 基督城 租车时,您需要签署租赁协议.届时您将有机会将您的保险从基本保险更改为 EZU 为您提供的另外两种选择之一.基本保险已包含在租金中.基本保险意味着在发生事故时,承租人将不得不支付超额费用.这可能是巨大的,所以在您只接受基本保险之前,请检查您的风险是什么.

  • 与大多数汽车租赁公司一样,您在从 EZU 租车时需要在汽车上留下押金.这是多少取决于您选择的保险选项.它可以低至 1.00 美元或高达 3000 美元.这笔押金采用信用卡预授权的形式,在您归还车辆时立即解除,且没有损坏或未支付其他费用.

  • 基督城的租金按预订天数收费.每天按 24 小时计算,而不是日历日.租车人须提供主司机名下的信用卡,并在接机前签署租车协议.

  • EZU 在 基督城 的分行将讨论他们在交出您租用车辆的钥匙时知道的与您的车辆有关的任何预先存在的损坏. EZU 拍摄所有预先存在的损坏的照片并将其归档到您的预订中.我们建议您也检查车辆并拍照留作自己的记录.您也可以与友好的工作人员讨论您关心的任何问题.

  • EZU 的燃油政策与大多数租车公司相同.我们为您提供充满燃料的车辆,并要求您在租用结束时将其全部归还.这样,您只需为使用过的燃料付费.

  • 还车很容易.加满燃料并从车上取出您的个人物品.请将汽车返回到取车时约定的地点 -通常是当地的分行.如果您需要更改此设置,请致电并说明您想要更改的内容.下车后,EZU 将检查车辆并将您带到机场航站楼的前门.请注意:有时在正常工作时间之外适用特殊程序.您需要在取车时进行这些安排.

  • 当您将租车返回 基督城 分行时,您会在租车后收取哪些费用?其中一些可能来自您在分行留下的信用卡号,因为分行可能只有在客户离开后才知道收费:

    -燃油费:如果您还没有给车辆加油与您获得时相同的水平,您将需要支付差额并收取服务费.
    -任何损坏的超额费用:这取决于您在取车时选择的保险选项.如果没有损坏,则不收取任何费用!
    -警察和停车罚款:这些通常在客户离开分行后出现,但您需要支付.停车罚款为 20 美元,警察超速罚款为 50 美元.如果您知道有待处理的罚款,我们建议您直接解决以节省这些费用.

EZU 在基督城提供什么保险?

  • 基本保险

    $0.00 Per Day

    高风险

    不推荐

    发生损坏或损失时的超额:4000美元至6000美元.

    对于此选项,您的信用卡上会有1000美元的预授权.

  • 全额保险

    $35.00 Per Day

    最佳选择

    推荐

    无过量;零责任.

    无需信用卡预授权.

  • 有限的保险

    $25.00 Per Day

    低风险

    部分保护

    发生损坏或损失时的超额:500美元.

    此选项将在您的信用卡上预授权500美元.

基督城 租车可选配件

  • 儿童座椅

    根据新西兰法律,所有 7 岁以下的儿童在乘车时必须使用适合其年龄和体型的经批准的儿童约束装置.我们提供一系列适合您孩子的汽车座椅尺寸,从婴儿到学龄儿童.我们所有的汽车座椅均符合新西兰/澳大利亚标准 AS/NZ 1754.

  • 增高座垫

    国际最佳实践建议在您的孩子身高达到 148 厘米或年满 11 岁之前使用适当的儿童约束装置(或加高座椅).我们为年龄较大的儿童提供加高座椅,以确保他们在旅途中的安全.

  • 导航设备

    安装了20多种不同语言的最新导航系统.非常适合手机无法覆盖的地区.

  • 防滑链

    强烈建议在新西兰冬季(6月至8月)携带防滑链.此时,一些道路可能只有在安装防滑链后才能通行.所有轮胎尺寸均可提供,请咨询.

  • 冷藏箱

    我们有冷藏箱,让您的饮料、罐头和海鲜即使在烈日下也能保持凉爽.每一次伟大的旅程都是从一个冰冷的箱子开始的.

  • 电饭煲

    非常适合在旅行时做饭.我们有两种尺寸可供选择:小号(5 杯)和大号(8 杯)

EZU 都有什么车型?

  • 小型轿车

    价格更低,燃油经济性更好

    View
  • 中型轿车

    更舒适的空间和更好的旅行体验

    View
  • suv

    非常适合高能见度和山地作业.

    View
  • 商务车

    容纳更多乘客和更多行李空间

    View

EZU 有哪些分店

奥克兰分行

皇后镇分行

罗托鲁瓦分行

The perfect car for the perfect journey

Christchurch Car Hire: The Benefits of Using a Car Rental Service

Looking for a vehicle in Christchurch? Call us and we will gladly help you!

Christchurch Branch

Branch Address:

168 Orchard Road, Harewood, Christchurch Airport.

Branch Phone:

+64 21 043 8288

Branch Email:

info@ezucarrental.com

Hours:

Monday - Sunday 7 am until 10 pm (after-hours available)

Pick-up Instructions:

EZU is just 5 minutes from the airport and offers a free shuttle service. When you are ready please call 021 043 8288. You will be picked up outside door/gate 1, near the Air NZ domestic check-in counters.

After-hours: For a fee of NZ$ 50.00, you can pick up your rental any time after normal business hours. EZU partners with Airpark Canterbury. Just head to Door/Exit 9 at the International Arrivals end of the terminal after you have collected your baggage. Dial 25 on the Free Phone mounted on a pillar next to Door/Exit 9. Airpark Canterbury will send its shuttle to pick you up and take you to collect your rental.

Drop-off Instructions:

Please fill your vehicle with the correct fuel and return it to EZU at 168 Orchard Road, Harewood, Christchurch Airport. Our friendly staff will check the vehicle and then drop you to the front door of the Airport terminal - just 5 minutes away.

After-hours: If you have arranged an after-hours drop off with EZU, please FILL your vehicle with fuel and take it to Airpark Canterbury, 17-25 Logistics Drive, Harewood, Christchurch 8544. Park the car along the front fence line and take the key to reception. Airpark runs a shuttle on demand and it will drop you to the front door of the Airport terminal. There is a NZ$ 50.00 fee paid to EZU for this service.

With 1/3 of New Zealand made up of national reserves and Christchurch's public transport system constantly found lacking, you wouldn't be blamed for planning ahead and thinking about car hire for your next visit. Some places are just impossible to get to without your own set of wheels.

If you've got big plans for your stay in the city, read on for our quick car hire guide to the top benefits of renting a car and why Christchurch car hire will make your stay that much more comfortable.

  • Freedom

    There's no better feeling than jumping behind the wheel of your own car with nothing between you and your next destination. Car rental in Christchurch affords you the freedom to get around on your own schedule.

    Even better, when you hire a car, you're able to travel to places that are not on any dedicated route. If you're keen to visit one of the South Island's hidden gems or get off the beaten track and discover some for yourself, a car rental is the way to go.

  • Comfort

    One of the top benefits of car hire for many is just how easy it makes your time in Christchurch. You can take things at your own pace, come and go as you please, and have everything that you need right alongside you.

    Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, life is a whole lot easier when you can store all your bits and pieces in your Christchurch car hire with no limitations on what you can take along for the ride. You'll be singing along to your favorite tunes while you pass all the people standing in the cold waiting for the bus.

  • Affordability

    Renting a car can save you tons when compared to paying for taxis or a driver for the day. Car hire also means you won't have to worry about vehicle maintenance costs, organizing a separate insurance policy, or having to manage multiple payments split between buses, trains, and airfare.

  • Meet Your Technology Needs

    One of our top car hire tips is to choose a car that will make your travels as easy as possible. Top-quality models come with all the bells and whistles such as panoramic displays, blind spot monitors, and collision avoidance systems. If it's something that will take your travel around the country to the next level, you'll be able to find it in your Christchurch car hire.

    One of the optional extras you'll find includes a navigation system so you can get around the South Island with ease. Each one is installed with over 20 languages and will get you out of a bind even when there is no phone service.

Book Your Next Christchurch Car Hire Today

Christchurch car hire makes life easy so you can focus on getting out and about in the city and beyond. If you're keen to get started on your next car hire adventure, head to our booking page to get a quote and pick out your next travel companion from our large range of Christchurch rental cars.

Steps to hire a car in Christchurch

  • 1. Select a vehicle

    Enter the location and time to search for a great range of vehicles.

  • 2. Fill in the booking form

    Enter your personal information carefully to ensure there are no problems later.

  • 3. Order confirmation

    Complete the reservation and confirm the booking.

  • 4. Pick up the vehicle

    Print the voucher and check you have all the relevant documents you need to collect your rental.

Why choose EZU when renting a car in Christchurch

  • High Quality Customer Service

    Free airport and hotel pick-up service

    Open and honest - no hidden costs

    Fast and efficient team

    Warm and friendly

  • Hot Deals

    Great deals from only $19.99/day!

    No cancellation fees

    No credit card fees

  • 24-Hour Roadside Assistance

    We provide 24-Hour Roadside Assistance with every car rental. Simply phone the AA on 0800 734 543 with your registration number if you find yourself in a difficult situation.

  • Convenient location

    Each of our branches are located less than 5 minutes' drive from the airport. We offer you a free pick-up service from the airport or hotel to our branch. Simply ring 0800 676710 when you are ready and our friendly team will pick you up.

  • Great choice of models

    Choose from our extensive range of modern, top-quality vehicles. These are well maintained by our own skilled mechanic on site. Where else to you get such wonderful vehicles at such an affordable rate?

  • More Optional Extras

    We are big on safety at EZU. We offer you car seats and booster seats that comply with the law. For your convenience we also offer other things to make your trip more enjoyable.

Hire a vehicle in Christchurch and enjoy

Christchurch is the largest city in the South Island of New Zealand and the seat of the Canterbury Region, Christchurch lies on the South Island's east coast. Christchurch is served by Christchurch Airport and by buses and trains. The local bus service, known as Metro, is provided by Environment Canterbury. The car, however, remains the dominant form of transport in the city, as with the rest of New Zealand. Christchurch has over 2,300 km of roads, of this 360 km is unsealed and 43 km is motorway. Christchurch has three motorways consisting of the Christchurch Northern Motorway, Christchurch Southern Motorway and the Christchurch-Lyttelton Motorway, making it easy to get around by car.

Christchurch Climate

Christchurch has a temperate oceanic climate with a mild summer, cool winter, and regular moderate rainfall. It has mean daily maximum air temperatures of 22.6 °C (73 °F) in January and 10.9 °C (52 °F) in July. Under the Köppen climate classification, Christchurch has an oceanic climate (Cfb). Summer in the city is mostly warm but is often moderated by a sea breeze from the north-east. A record temperature of 41.6 °C (107 °F) was reached in February 1973. In winter it is common for the temperature to fall below 0 °C (32 °F) at night. There are on average 80 days of ground frost per year. The coldest temperature recorded was -7.1 °C (19 °F) on 18 July 1945.

  • 11.8°C / 53.2°F

    Average annual temperatures

  • 577mm / 22.7inches

    Average annual precipitation

  • 82.3 days

    Average annual precipitation days

2.4 — 11.7 ℃

36.32 — 53.06 ℉

Partially cloudy

Christchurch Weather today

Source: "Visual Crossing Weather".

Exchange rate

  • From New Zealand
  • Australia
    AU$
    =

    1.0991

  • United States
    US$
    =

    1.6116

  • China
    CNY
    =

    0.2402

  • England
    £
    =

    1.9470

  • European Union
    =

    1.6801

Source: "ExchangeRate-API".

Christchurch recommended destinations

  • Botanical Gardens

    At the heart of Christchurch's reputation as the Garden City, the Gardens are a place of ever-changing beauty. Showcasing flora and fauna of New Zealand and other parts of the world, the Gardens feature one of the finest collections of exotic and local plants in New Zealand. With more than 1.1 Million visitors each year the Botanic Gardens are one of the Christchurch's most popular and well-loved attractions.

  • Christchurch Art Gallery

    The Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetu is the biggest and most famous gallery in the South Island. The art on display ranges from the old masters to modern art. The Art Gallery also has regular events including talks, museum tours and film evenings. It has a spectacular external design and is well worth a visit.

  • Christchurch Gondola

    The Christchurch Gondola ascends the Port Hills, overlooking not only the city but the crater rim and Mt Cavendish summit. At the top you will be rewarded by wonderful views of the cityscape, the Canterbury Plains and Lyttleton Harbour. In the distance you can take in the Southern Alps. When you reach the top there is a restaurant and you can watch a video about the geologic and human history of Christchurch.

  • Christchurch Museum

    The museum is located in the central city and is part of the rebuilt Cultural Precinct. Whilst the museum dates back to 1867 with the Julius von Haast collection forming its core, it is now a place where you can learn about the history of Canterbury and its connection to Antarctica. Highlights include the Māori galleries, the historic Christchurch street and the Victoria Museum.

  • Christchurch Town Hall

    The Christchurch Town Hall is situated in the heart of the city on the banks of the Avon River. It never fails to bring a sense of excitement, whether you attend an exhibition, concert, function or enjoy fine dining. It was recently extensively restored and strengthened, opening again in 2019. It includes the Douglas Lilburn Auditorium, the James Hay Theatre, the Limes Room, Avon Room and the Victoria Room.

  • Christchurch Tram

    The Christchurch Trams offer a wonderful experience combining history and sightseeing. These trams have been beautifully restored and are a favourite for visitors and locals. A all-day hop-on and hop-off ticket allows you to visit all the central city sights. It runs on a 17-stop route that takes in the Canterbury Museum, the Botanic Gardens, the Margaret Mahy Playground and inner city stores and restaurants. You can even dine on-board on the Tramming Restaurant.

Christchurch Frequently Asked Questions

Did you know that there are more sheep than people in New Zealand? If you're planning on visiting, Christchurch is an excellent place to set up your base camp, but it's important to have a way to get around and explore all of the sights.

While car rentals in Christchurch are often relatively affordable, they vary widely in other factors. It is important to choose a rental car that meets your specific needs.

Keep reading to learn what factors you should consider.

Can You Change Your Christchurch Car Rental Dates?

Are There Cancellation Charges?

Can You Add Additional Drivers in Christchurch?

Are There Christchurch Rental Car Insurance Requirements?

What Features Do Christchurch Car Rentals Have?

Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws in New Zealand

Snow Chains

What Christchurch Rental Car Models Are Available?

Find the Right Car Rentals in Christchurch

Will there be any extra charge if I cancel my car hire in Christchurch?

Can I change the date of my Christchurch car hire?

How long can I rent a car in Christchurch?

Can I use my overseas driving licence to hire a car in Christchurch?

What documents do I need to bring to rent a car in Christchurch?

Can I hire a car in Christchurch if I am under 25 years of age?

Can I apply for additional drivers to hire a car in Christchurch?

How can I purchase additional insurance to reduce excess on my hire when renting a car in Christchurch?

How do I pay for the booking in Christchurch?

What do Christchurch renters say

Real reviews from people who rent Christchurch cars. Hope these reviews will help you.

What you need to know about traffic rules in New Zealand

New Zealand is definitely a paradise for road trips. The traffic is light, the road is good, and out of the window you can see the beautiful scenery of the north and south Islands. If you are coming to New Zealand for the first time, it is best to understand the New Zealand traffic rules before starting your road trip to avoid unnecessary violations.

  • Keep left

  • Pedestrians first

  • Keep speed down

  • Fasten Seat Belt

Christchurch Rental Car Tips:

  • Renting a car in Christchurch requires a driver's licence that is in English. If you have a licence in another language, you will need to produce it together with an official translation of the licence into English or present an International Driving Permit. These will be photocopied at pick-up.

  • When you rent a car in Christchurch, you will be required to sign a rental agreement. You will have the opportunity at that time to change your insurance from basic insurance to one of two other options EZU will offer you. Basic insurance is included in the rental price. Basic insurance means that in the event of an accident, the renter will have to pay an excess. This can be substantial so please check out what your risk is before you accept basic cover only.

  • Like most rental car companies, you will be required to leave a security deposit on the car when you rent from EZU. How much this is depends on the insurance option you choose. It can be as little as $1.00 or as much as $3000. This security deposit takes the form of a pre-authorisation on your credit card, which is released as soon as you return the vehicle without damage or other outstanding charges.

  • A rental in Christchurch is charged according to the number of days booked. Each day is calculated in 24-hour periods, not calendar days. The hirer must provide a credit card in the name of the main driver and sign the rental agreement before the pick-up.

  • EZU's branch in Christchurch will discuss any pre-existing damage they are aware of with your vehicle when they hand over the keys to your rental vehicle. EZU takes photos of all pre-existing damage and files it against your booking. We suggest you check the vehicle also and take photos for your own record. You can also talk to the friendly staff about anything you are concerned about.

  • The fuel policy at EZU is the same as most rental car companies. We give you the vehicle full of fuel and ask that you return it full at the end of your hire. This way you only pay for the fuel you have used.

  • Returning your rental car is easy. Fill it up with fuel and remove your personal goods from the vehicle. Please return the car to the place agreed at the time of pick-up - usually the local branch. If you need to change this, please ring and explain what you would like to change. After drop-off, EZU will check the vehicle and take you to the front door of the airport terminal. Please note: there are sometimes special procedures that apply outside of usual business hours. You need to make these arrangements when you pick up your rental.

  • What charges can you expect after your hire when you return the rental car to the Christchurch branch? Some of these may be taken from the credit card number you leave with the branch because the branch may only become aware of the charge after the customer has left:

    • Fuel charge: If you have not filled the vehicle up to the same level as when you were given it, you will be expected to pay the difference and a service fee will apply.
    • Excess for any damage: This depends on which insurance option your chose when you picked up the rental car. If there is no damage, there is no charge!
    • Police and parking fines: These often come in after the customer leaves the branch, but you are expected to pay them. There is an administration fee of $20 for parking fines and $50 for Police speeding fines. If you are aware of a pending fine, we suggest you settle it directly to save you these fees.

What insurance does EZU offer inChristchurch?

  • BASIC INSURANCE

    $0.00 Per Day

    High-risk

    Not recommend

    Excess in the event of damage or loss: $4000 - $6000.

    A pre-authorisation of $1000 will be put on your credit card for this option.

  • FULL INSURANCE

    $35.00 Per Day

    Best option

    Recommended

    NO excess; Zero liability.

    NO credit card pre-authorisation required.

  • LIMITED INSURANCE

    $25.00 Per Day

    Low risk

    Partial protection

    Excess in the event of damage or loss: $500.

    A pre-authorisation of $500 will be put on your credit card for this option.

Christchurch Car Rental optional accessories

  • Car Seats

    Under New Zealand law, all children under seven years of age must use an approved child restraint appropriate for their age and size whenever they travel in a car. We offer a range of car seat sizes to suit your child, from infants to school age. All of our car seats meet New Zealand/Australian Standard AS/NZ 1754.

  • Booster Seats

    International best practice recommends the use of an appropriate child restraint (or booster seat) until your child either reaches 148 cm tall or turns 11 years old. We offer booster seats for older children to keep them safe and secure while travelling.

  • Navigation Device

    The most recently updated system with 20+ different languages installed. Great for locations where mobile phone coverage is unavailable.

  • Snow Chain

    Carrying snow chains is highly recommended during the New Zealand Winter season (June to August). At this time, some roads may only be passable when snow chains are fitted. All tyre sizes are available so please ask.

  • Chilly Bins

    We've got chilly bins to keep your drinks, cans and seafood cool even under the hot sun. Every great journey starts with a cool chilly bin.

  • Rice Cooker

    Great for cooking meals while travelling. We have two sizes available: Small (5cups) and Large (8 cups)

What car models can I rent in Christchurch?

  • Compact

    The price is lower and the fuel economy is better

    View
  • Intermediate

    More comfortable space and better travel experience

    View
  • SUV

    Ideal for great visibility and hill/mountain work.

    View
  • People Mover

    Accommodate more passengers and more space for luggage

    View

Other branch locations

  • Auckland Branch

    7 Kingsford Smith Place, Mangere, Auckland 2022.

    +64 22 182 5752

    max.cui@ezucarrental.com

    Monday - Sunday 08:00 am to 06.00 pm (after-hours available)

  • Queenstown Branch

    234 Glenda Drive, Frankton, Queenstown.

    +64 21 286 3456

    info@ezucarrental.com

    Monday - Sunday 08:00 am to 06.00 pm (after-hours available)

  • Rotorua Branch

    1076 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua 3010.

    +64 07 349 3285

    will.deng@ezucarrental.com

    Monday - Sunday 08:00 am to 06.00 pm (after-hours available)